The beginning of anything feels like jumping out of an airplane, so it makes sense that this blog start up makes me feel a mix of flying and falling really fast into the open sky.

But, I jumped.

Without any training, just a small pouch of guidance from my Father up above, I am writing this post.

To whoever is possibly staring at this and questioning what is about to go down: I’m currently craving chocolate and some good truth. I always strive to be intentional about my words. And right now I’m thinking about a savory sweet dessert I can taste and feel. Not just some dark chocolate covered strawberries, but satisfying words of love and encouragement from an even better caterer. I’ve sat and thought about what my first post should be about and I’m constantly struck with my word of the month: fearless.

Why do we live in fear?

Why are we so afraid to speak up, walk courageously out into the world, and shed some light?

Never in the Bible does it promote worry, or fear about the future. Ten minutes before I walked into an interview at my school, shaking in my boots, I was smacked across the head with a simple, bold truth:

The Lord is for me; I will not fear; What can man do to me? – Psalm 118:6

What can really stand against us or hurt us when we have the God of the universe on our side? Fear has no hold on me anymore, for I understand that people really have no power over the way I see myself, unless I let them.

I was always apprehensive about starting a blog, because I relied so heavily on the affirmation of other people. This being my first post is a sort of milestone; the end of a bad chapter and the opening of the best one yet. Once I decided to leave behind my old ways of basing my worth on the approval of my peers, the chains were broken! And all due to the saving grace of my sweet Lord.

My hopes for this blog are to encourage and challenge you (and myself if we are being honest) to rethink the way we view ourselves. To look in the mirror and realize that God created us each individually, calling us precious, beautiful gems. We are his children, and we must understand His love runs deeper than the Vogue model size requirements, Covergirl perfect skin, or latest fad diet. Our worth is found in the one who created us, we are called to be fearless warriors for Christ, to have faith in the promises of his truth and live to reflect joy, love, compassion.

It’s the beginning of a new chapter and each one is better than the last. I’m so amped to see how God uses this page to speak some truth into a broken world, and hopefully shed a little light on the beauty that is created within each of us.

Here’s to the start of a beautiful exchange: where all our dirty, yucky insecurity, loneliness, sadness, and anger is wiped clean and swapped for a crown of redemption.

 

 

